Select Page


Tergar Malaysia 马来西亚德噶
Tergar Malaysia 马来西亚德噶January 1
2020年的艱辛挑戰提醒我們人生無常,但只要我們不放棄,便能看見無常其實充滿了可能性。在這影帶中,明就仁波切分享他在疫情期間的學習,並鼓勵大家在新的一年能夠繼續從經驗中成長。The challenges of 2020 were an opportunity for ...
Tergar Malaysia 马来西亚德噶
Tergar Malaysia 马来西亚德噶December 25
“Can you can imagine that you’re alone in this world? Nobody is there - no people, no animals? If you’re alone in this world, you can’t survive. Since childhood until now, you are here because of others”. Watch the recent teaching of Mingyur Rinpoche on love, compassion, and interconnectedness with Korean and English subtitles.
Tergar Malaysia 马来西亚德噶
Tergar Malaysia 马来西亚德噶December 23
In a recent webinar with Tergar instructors Tim Olmsted and Antonia Sumbundu, "How to Make a Habit of Meditation," Tim reminded us that creating the causes and conditions for a transformative habit begins in our minds. Enjoy this inspiring clip from the program (8 min)
Tergar Malaysia 马来西亚德噶
Tergar Malaysia 马来西亚德噶December 22
December 26-28 - Teaching replay: Amitabha Practice by Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche.

Many Buddhists’ goal of practice is to be reborn in Dewachen – the Pure Land of Buddha Amitabha. What does one have to do to be free from samsara and get to the Buddha Land of Supreme Bliss? What aspirations must one make to connect with the Pure Land that’s the fruition of Amitabha’s great aspirations? Join us for Mingyur Rinpoche’s teaching replay on Amitabha practice to discover the pathway to being born in the Pure Land. Language - English and Chinese.

If you have questions, please contact

Registration link:
Tergar Malaysia 马来西亚德噶
Tergar Malaysia 马来西亚德噶December 20
【Summary of 2020 Tegar Taiwan online course: Meditation and Six Paramitas】
Teaching by Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche
Date: 2020/12/19 19:30 (GMT+8)

Today's talk is about six paramitas.
In Mahayana Buddhism, the practice is composed of three parts. The first is to rouse motivation, or what we call bodhicitta. The second part, or the main practice, is six paramitas. The last part is dedication. Altogether, motivation, six paramitas, and dedication is the complete practice of the Mahayana.

▍ Develop a great motivation: I want to help all beings to recognize their true nature

For anything we do in our life, the most important thing is our motivation. Motivation has the power to lead us to the final destination. The stronger the motivation we have, the more likely we will become successful. In the traditional example, if we want to shoot an arrow, we have to know the target first to be able to hit the target directly. On the other hand, without the target, no matter how skillful or strong we are, the arrow won’t hit anything. Based on modern scientific research, having a sense of purpose and meaningful motivation really helps us to become successful and happy.

In the Mahayana practice, we need to generate motivation—the bigger the better. However, since we cannot do a lot at the beginning, we need to start from smaller actions. Having a great motivation with small steps of action strikes a perfect balance.

What is the greatest motivation? The greatest motivation is wanting to help all beings to be free from suffering and fully recognize their true nature within. For such a purpose, we need to do all kinds of virtuous and meaningful work.

▍The essence of six paramitas is in our mind
Though we don’t have that capacity to help all beings, we accumulate virtue in order to develop that capacity. And the accumulation is that of six paramitas. These six paramitas are involved with actions, but the real essence of six paramitas is in our own mind.

1. Paramita of generosity
The essence of generosity is the mindset of letting go. Generosity is not just giving. If you cannot let go, your giving may not become generosity.

Some people give something and expect twice as much in return. This action is desire. Some people give in front of everybody to show off. This kind of giving comes out of pride. When we see others giving, we might also compete to give due to jealousy. Some people may also do offerings because they wish that their enemy will become jobless or go bankrupt. This type of offering comes from hatred. When people give things such as guns, poisons, or drugs, such giving is based on ignorance.

Giving with the five poisons is not real generosity. The real generosity is giving with loving kindness and compassion.

2.Paramita of ethical conduct
The essence of discipline is the mind of virtue and mind of meaningfulness. It is also helping others or the mind of wanting to help. If we cannot help others, at least don’t harm them. That's what we call non-violence.

3.Paramita of patience
The essence of patience is what we call a mind of resilience. Resilience opens our mind. Without a mind of resilience, small problems become big problems, then everything becomes difficult. On the other hand, with patience or resilience, everything becomes easy.

4.Paramita of joyful efforts
The essence of joyful efforts is what we call ‘a mind of inspiration’, or ‘a sense of purpose and joy’. If we see a value or purpose in anything that we come across, we can naturally connect with our mind. When we start generating interest in things, we will naturally put in efforts and do anything with a joyful mind.

5.Paramita of meditation
The essence of meditation is awareness. I always teach about awareness. Even though the teachings have many different titles, all of them stem back to awareness. Awareness leads us to find real happiness within us. The main teaching in Joy of Living level one is awareness. In Joy of Living level two, the topic is about motivation. Finally, Joy of Living level three talks about wisdom paramita.

6.Paramita of wisdom
The meaning of wisdom is having the mind to recognize the nature of phenomena and the truth. Having wisdom is recognizing the way things truly are.

▍ Combining six paramitas with meditation
When we practice meditation, we have to let go of our busy lives, jobs, and time to be fully dedicated to meditation. We need to let go of the grasp on attachments. This is the essence of generosity.

When you focus on being aware of your breaths, that becomes both a virtue and a discipline.

When meditating, we have thoughts. We let the monkey mind come and let it go, instead of fighting with them. Such practice is patience.

We should continue to develop interests and connect meditation with our mind. Through practicing for a short time, many times, we can use various techniques to cultivate an appreciation for medication. A mind of joyful efforts is a mind that continuously creates interest and keeps things fresh.

Awareness is the samadhi. When we know our breath as it is with awareness, whether it’s shallow breath, deep breath, or peaceful breath... Whatever the nature of the breath, be with it as it is. This is wisdom.

The last one is dedication. At the end of whatever you do, dedicate to all beings to fully recognize their true nature. To summarize, motivation, practicing six paramitas, and dedication, is the complete practice of the Mahayana.

Summary of 2020 Tegar Taiwan online course: Meditation and Six Paramitas by Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche





Program Overview

Program Overview   The Tergar Meditation Community offers a wealth of opportunities to learn...